Tied at 7,950 points in the DPC rankings for the year 2018-2019, Team Secret and Virtus.pro are heading into the Season 11 of Dota 2’s DreamLeague. The champion will get 4,950 DPC points, so the pressure is mounting with every passing day on both the teams to perform well and to grab maximum points to lead the chart, let alone the prize money.

DreamLeague – the third major

DreamHack, the organizers of the DreamLeague announced that the Season 11 will kick start on 14thMarch 2019 while the Grand Final is set to be held on 24thMarch 2019, these eleven days of some exciting gaming is expected to take the experience to a new level. A prize pool of $1 million if up for the taking with the winner will bag $350,000, in addition to that a pool of 15,000 DPC points will also be available to be grabbed by the participants.

Announced by the host, it will be a double elimination format game with sixteen teams equally divided into four groups. After the conclusion of group stage, the top two teams will move into the upper bracket for playoffs while the teams at the bottom will move to the lower bracket. The teams in the lower bracket will play a best of one game while the others will participate in the best of three game format. Best of five match format will be followed for the Grand Finals.

Only four majors in Dota Pro Circuit

Valve introduced Dota Pro Circuit in 2017 with a primary objective to decide which teams are good enough to be able to invite to The International directly. There are two type of events; Majors and Minors. A major event at least offers a prize pool of $500,000 while Valve adds on $500,000 to make it $1 million for the taking while a minor event offers only $150,000 and 500 DPC points, contrary to 15000 DPC points of a major event.

Now, for this season a big change by Valve is that it has not allowed any direct entrants into Major and Minor events. Rather, all the teams went through Regional Qualifiers to make it to the grand stage. Moreover, rather than having top eight teams, The International will now have top twelve teams directly going to the event.

Total participating teams

Looking at the qualified teams for this season, we have Evil Geniuses placed at the 4thplace in the DPC rankings while Ninja Pyjamas are ranked at 5th. Team Fnatic stads at 6thposition, Vici Gaming is at 7th. EHOME, TNC Predator, Team Liquid, J.Storm, and Alliance ranks 8thtill 12threspectively in the DPC ranking for the year 2018-2019. It shall be noted that Team Alliance is tied at 12thwith 225 points alongside Forward Gaming and Chaos Esports.

A few casters to look for this season include Jorien van der Heijden (Sheever), Owen Davies (ODPixel), Ioannis Loucas (Fogged), Jake Kanner (SirActionSlacks), Michelle Song (Moxxi), Henrik Ahnberg (AdmiralBulldog), David Parker (Godz), and Admir Salkanovic (Lizzard). And after this season, two Major events have been scheduled to take place in May & June this year.

Related: DreamLeague Season 10 Will Be The First Minor Of The New Season